Coach Exhibition

Coach Exhibition

The Coach Exhibition is a collection of more than 50 coaches, carriages and sleighs related to the aristocratic lifestyle of the 18th and 19th centuries.

The building of the Coach Museum used to be the stable and coach house of the central Festetics estate. It was built by Tassilo Festetics II at the time of the last reconstruction period of the palace between 1883-1887.

The collection shown at the exhibition consists of horse-drawn vehicles related to the aristocratic lifestyle of the 18th and 19th centuries. The set of exhibited objects is unique even in Europe, and stands out from similar collections because of its diversity. The exhibition offers a historical overview of Hungarian and Western European coach driving, it demonstrates the technical development of coaches and carriages, and gives an insight into the golden age of coach and carriage manufacture. Besides coaches and carriages, the collection of horse-drawn sleighs is also unique.

A separate room houses the equipment connected to coach driving and horse riding, including trappings, saddles, bridles, horsewhips, etc.

Photo Gallery

Back to the page Permanent Exhibitions

Helikon Palace Museum - First page Magyar Deutsch